REBNY Elects James Nelson as Chair, Joanne Podell as Vice Chair of Commercial Brokerage Board of Directors

--Robin Abrams, Shimon Shkury, Matthew J. Van Buren, and Mark Weiss named new directors--

The Real Estate Board of New York (REBNY) today announced the results of its elections for the Commercial Board of Directors, which oversees the commercial brokerage division for REBNY.


New 2014 Commercial Board of Directors Members

James P. Nelson, Partner at Massey Knakal Realty Services, has been elected as the new chairman, succeeding William C. Montana of Savills Studley who served for five years as chairperson. Joanne Podell, Vice Chairman at Cushman & Wakefield, has been elected vice chairman.

“It is an honor and privilege to be of continued service to REBNY,” said Mr. Nelson. “The Commercial Board of Directors will continue to do their part to promote the best interests of the New York City real estate industry and the people who live and work here.”  

“It’s an honor to be sharing a leadership role on REBNY’s Commercial Board of Directors,” said Ms. Podell. “I look forward to contributing in ways that build upon the ongoing success of this outstanding organization.”

“Serving as Chairman for the last five years has been my privilege and a pleasure. We’ve grown the commercial brokerage division tremendously and accomplished so much through our many new initiatives. The creation of the NYCP commercial education program was particularly gratifying,” said Mr. Montana. “I am pleased to pass the baton on to James Nelson and Joanne Podell, and know that REBNY will be well served by such capable professionals.”

“We thank Bill Montana for his seven years of outstanding leadership and service as chairman and welcome James Nelson and Joanne Podell as the new chair and vice chair,” said Steven Spinola REBNY President. “These top industry experts have brought invaluable experience and knowledge to our Commercial Board of Directors and we congratulate them on being elected for these much-deserved leadership roles.”

REBNY’s Commercial Board of Directors also elected the following as directors:

  • Robin Abrams of The Lansco Corporation
  • Shimon Shkury of Ariel Property Advisors
  • Matthew J. Van Buren of CBRE
  • Mark Weiss of Newmark Grubb Knight Frank

Other members of REBNY’s Commercial Board of Directors include: James G. Caseley of ABS Partners Real Estate, Brian Ezratty of Eastern Consolidated, Ira Z. Fishman or Evo Real Estate Group, Joseph A. Grotto, Jr. of Cassidy Turley, Andrew D. Levin of Boston Properties Limited Partnership, Eric Meyer of Colliers International, Robert A. Nager of Robert Nager LLC, and John V. Wheeler, Jr. of Jones Lang LaSalle.

About The Real Estate Board of New York

The Real Estate Board of New York is the city’s leading real estate trade association with more than 16,000 members.  REBNY represents major commercial and residential property owners and builders, brokers and managers, banks, financial service companies, utilities, attorneys, architects, contractors and other individuals and institutions professionally interested in the city’s real estate.  REBNY is involved in crucial municipal matters including tax policy, city planning and zoning, rental conditions, land use policy, building codes and legislation.  In addition, REBNY publishes reports providing indicators of market prices for both the residential and commercial sectors. Please visit us online at

# # #